art, discrimination and hate, equality, human rights poem

Human Rights Poem (75): I, Too, Sing America

Langston Hughes

Langston Hughes

(source)

I, Too, Sing America, by Langston Hughes

I, too, sing America.
I am the darker brother.
They send me to eat in the kitchen
When company comes. But I laugh,
And eat well,
And grow strong.
Tomorrow I’ll sit at the table
When company comes
Nobody’ll dare Say to me, “Eat in the kitchen”
Then.
Besides, they’ll see how beautiful I am
And be ashamed,–
I, too, am America.

More on segregation, jim crow, and discrimination. More Langston Hughes. Other human rights poems.

Standard

One thought on “Human Rights Poem (75): I, Too, Sing America

  1. Your Poems are so deep …………. really great ! So I want to invite you to our worldwide project:

    Ever heard of Global Human Trafficking or Modern Day Slavery?
    Have you ever talked about it, or discussed it amongst your friends?

    Your are an artist ? A poet ? A musican ? An actor ?

    So lets get started – come and join us, and BE a PART of Artists for freedom !!!

    Check it out , log in at our website http:// http://www.artistsforfreedom.net
    and fight together for human rights and human trafficking worldwide !!!

    Would be great to have you on board, Best Regards from Germany , Mona Schwenker

    And don’t forget to tell all your friends :-))

Leave a Reply

