human rights poem, war

Human Rights Poem (67): Warsaw

Robert W. Service

Robert W. Service

(source)

Warsaw, Robert Service

I was in Warsaw when the first bomb fell;
I was in Warsaw when the Terror came -
Havoc and horror, famine, fear and flame,
Blasting from loveliness a living hell.
Barring the station towered a sentinel;
Trainward I battled, blind escape my aim.
ENGLAND! I cried. He kindled at the name:
With lion-leap he haled me… All was well.

ENGLAND! they cried for aid, and cried in vain.
Vain was their valour, emptily they cried.
Bleeding, they saw their Cry crucified…
O splendid soldier, by the last lone train,
To-day would you flame forth to fray me place?
Or – would you curse and spit into my face?

September, 1939

More poems about war here, here, here, here, here, here, here, and here.

Standard

One thought on “Human Rights Poem (67): Warsaw

  1. Pingback: Human Rights Poem (77): September 1, 1939 « P.A.P. Blog – Human Rights Etc.

Leave a Reply

